Immune System and Cancer
Immune system
and cancer

How does the immune system work?

The immune system protects the body by differentiating self from non-self.3 Self means our own body tissues. Non-self means any abnormal cell or foreign invader, such as bacteria, viruses, parasites and fungus. It is important to remember that:

The immune system constantly monitors all the substances normally found in the body. Any new substance that is not recognized by the immune system raises an alarm, causing the immune system to see it as “foreign or non-self” and attack it.1 The immune response can destroy anything containing the foreign substance, such as germs or cancer cells.1


The immune system can be activated by many “non-self” substances or antigens.3 For example, the proteins on the surfaces of bacteria, fungi and viruses are all antigens, and when the antigens bind to special receptors on the defense cells, a series of cell processes is started. Then the immune system can recall stored “memories” in order to more quickly be ready to defend against known pathogens.3


The body’s own cells also have surface proteins. However, the immune system does not attack them, because it has already learned at an earlier stage to identify specifically these cell proteins as “self.”3

Without an immune system, a human being would be open to harmful influences of pathogens or other substances from the outside environment.

Subscribe

免疫系統與癌症
免疫系統
和癌症

免疫系統如何運作?

免疫系統會透過分辨自體和非自體來保護人體3。自體是指我們自己的身體組織。非自體是指任何異常細胞或外來入侵者,例如細菌、病毒、寄生蟲、真菌等。重要的是:

免疫系統會不斷監測人體內出現的所有物質。任何免疫系統不認得的新物質都會令免疫系統響起警號,檢測是否屬「外來或非自體」物質,以便加以攻擊1。免疫反應可以幫助清除所有外來物質,例如細菌或癌細胞1

很多「非自體」物質或抗原都可能會啟動免疫系統3。例如細菌、真菌和病毒表面的蛋白都是抗原,而當這些抗原與免疫細胞的特定受體結合,就會開始一連串的細胞反應過程。免疫系統就可以回憶儲存了的「記錄」,更快地準備好對抗已知的病原體3

而身體本身的細胞也有表面蛋白。不過免疫系統不會對這些蛋白產生對抗作用,因為在較早階段,免疫系統已經學習到把這些細胞蛋白識別為「自體」物質3

如果沒有免疫系統,人類就會受到病原體或外來其他有害物質的影響。

訂閱