Understanding Immunotherapy
Understanding
immunotherapy

How immunotherapy works?

One reason that cancer cells thrive is because they are able to hide from the immune system.7 Immunotherapy is designed to activate the immune system, making it able to recognize cancer cells and destroy them.

Immunotherapy offers several different approaches to treating cancer. Certain immunotherapies can mark cancer cells so it is easier for the immune system to find and destroy them, while other immunotherapies boost the immune system to work better against cancer.7

Immunotherapy + other therapies:
Immunotherapy can be used alone as a treatment option to fight cancer, or in combination with other cancer treatments, such as chemotherapy, radiotherapy and surgery18 to help enhance and broaden the benefits. For example, combining immunotherapies with chemotherapy has the potential for additive effects on tumor response and overall survival.9 As immunotherapy is a relatively new treatment approach, more researches are being done to examine the synergetic benefit of using immunotherapy with radiotherapy, chemotherapy, target therapy and other immunotherapies.
Subscribe

認識免疫療法
了解
免疫治療

免疫治療怎樣產生功效?

要了解免疫治療如何產生功效,我們先要明白癌細胞及免疫系統的關係。癌細胞能存活的其中一個原因,是因為它們能避過免疫系統的監測7。而免疫治療的發明,正是旨在啟動免疫系統,令免疫系統可以識別和消滅癌細胞,這就是免疫治療的基本原理。

免疫治療可透過幾種不同模式來治療癌症。一些免疫治療可以標記癌細胞,令免疫系統更易找尋和消滅這些有害細胞;而另一些免疫治療則能增強免疫系統,從而更有效地對抗癌症7。不同的免疫治療在癌症治療中有不同的功用,醫生會因應患者的情況,選擇不同種類的免疫治療。

免疫治療 + 其他療法:
免疫治療可單獨使用,也可結合其他癌症療法與免疫治療一起使用,例如將免疫治療結合化療、免疫治療結合電療、及免疫治療結合手術18,以幫助提升和擴大治療效果。舉例來說,結合免疫治療和化療,有機會在腫瘤反應和病人存活期上帶來累加效應9。免疫治療是一種相對較新的治療方法,現時有多項關於免疫治療結合的研究正在進行,以了解結合免疫治療和電療、化療、標靶治療及其他免疫治療的協同效益。
訂閱