Immunotherapy for Bladder Cancer
Immunotherapy
for bladder cancer

Immunotherapy for locally advanced or metastatic bladder cancer

One of the abilities of our immune system is to keep itself from attacking normal cells in the body. To do this, it uses “checkpoints” – molecules on immune cells that need to be turned on (or off) to start an immune response. Cancer cells sometimes use these checkpoints to avoid being attacked by the immune system. However, newer drugs that target these checkpoints hold a lot of promise as cancer treatments.38

For patients with locally advanced or metastatic urothelial carcinoma whose tumor have spread and cannot be removed surgically or have disease progression after receiving chemotherapy containing platinum, medical studies have demonstrated that immune checkpoint inhibitors are effective second-line treatment options.39

There are two classes of immune checkpoint inhibitors for treating locally advanced or metastatic urothelial carcinoma.37

PD-L1 Inhibitor38

This type of immunotherapy target PD-L1, a protein on cells (including some cancer cells) that helps keep the immune system from attacking them. By blocking PD-L1, these drugs boost the immune response against the cancer cells. This can shrink some tumors or slow their growth.

PD-1 Inhibitor38

This type of immunotherapy targets PD-1, another protein that normally helps keep the immune system in check. Blocking PD-1 can help the immune system attack the cancer cells.

All above classes of immune checkpoint inhibitors can be used in patients with advanced bladder cancer that starts growing again after chemotherapy.

Subscribe

膀胱癌免疫療法
膀胱癌
免疫治療

局部晚期或轉移性膀胱癌的免疫治療

我們的免疫系統能防止自己攻擊體內的正常細胞。免疫系統會利用「免疫檢查點」,即免疫細胞上的分子蛋白來啟動或關閉免疫反應。癌細胞有時會利用這些檢查點來避免受到免疫系統的攻擊。不過,現在已有新型藥物針對這些檢查點,是癌症治療的新希望38
Bladder cancer

對於局部晚期或轉移性泌尿上皮癌患者,如果癌腫已經擴散並無法以手術切除,或者在接受含鉑類藥物化療後疾病惡化,醫學研究顯示,免疫檢查點抑制劑是有效的二線治療選擇39

有兩類免疫檢查點抑制劑可用於治療局部晚期或轉移性泌尿上皮癌37

PD-L1 抑製劑38

是針對 PD-L1 的藥物。PD-L1 是一種細胞蛋白 (一些癌細胞上也有),它會幫助細胞避開免疫系統的攻擊。這些藥物可以透過阻斷 PD-L1,增強人體對抗癌細胞的免疫反應,從而令腫瘤縮小或延緩生長。

PD-1 抑製劑38

是針對 PD-1的藥物。PD-1是另一種有助控制免疫系統的蛋白。阻斷 PD-1 可以幫助免疫系統攻擊癌細胞。

上述藥物均可用於化療後病情惡化的晚期膀胱癌患者。

訂閱