Understanding Immunotherapy
Understanding
immunotherapy

Types of cancer immunotherapy

There are several types of immunotherapy, and they work in different ways in cancer treatment. Understanding how the different types of treatment work can help patients make a decision about their treatment approach with their healthcare professionals. Listed below are some common types of immunotherapy.



Immune checkpoint inhibitors

T-cells in our immune system have proteins on them that turn on an immune response and other proteins that turn it off. These are called checkpoints.10 Immune checkpoint inhibitors blocks proteins that stop the immune system from attacking the cancer cells.10

How they work11

This type of immunotherapy works by blocking checkpoint protein present on immune cells and tumor cells. Checkpoint proteins, such as PD-1, PD-L1 and CTLA-4, help keep immune response in check and could stop T-cells from removing cancer cells. An example of this is the binding of PD-L1 on tumor cells to PD-1 on T-cells could stops T-cells from killing the tumor cells in the body. By blocking the binding with an immune checkpoint inhibitor, the T-cells restore its function and allowing it to more effectively destroy tumor cells.

How they are used

Immune checkpoint inhibitors are used to treat a variety of cancers, such as skin cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, bladder cancer, and Hodgkin lymphoma.16 To know more about how checkpoint inhibitors are used in lung cancer and bladder cancer, please see Immunotherapy for lung cancer and Immunotherapy for bladder cancer sections for more information.

Immune checkpoint inhibitors are usually given by an intravenous infusion.16 Whether a patient can have this treatment depends on his or her type of cancer and might also depend on:

  1. The stage of cancer;
  2. Whether the patient has already had certain treatments.16

Patients should ask their doctor if this treatment is suitable for them.

PD-L1 testing:

FFor certain types and stages of cancers, testing for PD-L1 expression can help doctors inform better treatment options.12 This testing does not apply to all checkpoint inhibitors.10 Consult your doctor on whether PD-L1 testing applies to you.

Monoclonal antibodies7

Monoclonal antibodies, also known as therapeutic antibodies, are immune system proteins created in the lab. These antibodies recognize and attach to specific proteins found on cancer cells. Monoclonal antibodies work by marking cancer cells, so the immune system can better recognize and destroy the cancer cells, stop cancer cells growth, or initiate cell death. Monoclonal antibodies are used to treat a wide variety of cancers.

Cytokines12

Cytokines are a group of proteins found in the body that play an important part in boosting the immune system. Man-made versions of these proteins, such as interferon and interleukin, have been developed as a treatment for cancer. Interferons and interleukin interfere with the way cancer cells grow and multiply, stimulate the immune system and encourage killer T-cells and other cells to attack cancer cells, and encourage cancer cells to produce chemicals that attract immune system cells to them. They can be used to treat kidney cancer, melanoma, multiple myeloma, and some types of leukemia.

Cancer vaccines5

Cancer vaccines treat cancers by strengthening the body’s natural defenses against cancers that are already developed. They are intended to help delay or stop further growth of a cancer, to prevent a cancer from coming back, or to destroy any cancer cells left behind after other treatments. The idea behind cancer treatment vaccines is that introducing one or more cancer antigens into the body will cause an immune response that ultimately kills the cancer cells. Therapeutic cancer vaccines currently available are used to treat prostate cancer.

Adoptive cell transfer

(also called adoptive T-cell therapy or immune cell therapy)

This type of immunotherapy is still quite new, and researches are being conducted to look into how well it works as a treatment for cancer.14 Adoptive cell transfer boosts the natural ability of an individual’s T-cells to fight cancer. In this treatment, T-cells are extracted from patients, grown and modified in the lab then re-administered back in the patients.15 The three current approaches to adoptive cell transfer are:15

  • Multiply collected T-cells;
  • Genetically modify T-cells to attack antigen on cancer cells; or
  • Equip T-cells with chimeric antigen receptors, this approach is called CAR-T therapy.

Currently, this type of immunotherapy is being used to treat non-Hodgkin lymphoma and certain types of acute lymphoblastic leukemia.15

Subscribe

認識免疫療法
了解
免疫治療

癌症免疫治療種類

目前有數種免疫治療,它們在癌症治療中有不同功用。了解不同治療的功用,可以幫助患者與醫護人員決定治療方案。以下是一些常見的免疫治療。



免疫檢查點抑制劑 (Immune checkpoint inhibitors)

人類免疫系統的 T 細胞上有不同的蛋白質可分別啟動和關閉免疫反應。它們被稱為免疫檢查點10。免疫檢查點抑制劑能阻斷那些會遏制免疫系統攻擊癌細胞的蛋白10

如何運作11

這類免疫治療能阻斷免疫細胞和腫瘤細胞上的免疫檢查點蛋白。免疫檢查點蛋白 (例如 PD-1、PD-L1 和 CTLA-4) 能壓抑免疫反應,並阻止 T 細胞清除癌細胞。其中一個例子是當腫瘤細胞上的 PD-L1 與 T 細胞上的 PD-1相結合,便可以阻止 T 細胞消滅體內的腫瘤細胞。因此,利用免疫檢查點抑制劑阻斷這種結合,T 細胞就可以恢復功能,令其更有效地消滅腫瘤細胞。

如何使用

免疫檢查點抑制劑可用於治療多種癌症,例如皮膚癌、非小細胞肺癌、膀胱癌、何傑金氏淋巴瘤16。要進一步了解如何使用免疫檢查點抑制劑來治療肺癌及膀胱癌,請參閲肺癌免疫治療及膀胱癌免疫治療。

免疫檢查點抑制劑通常經靜脈輸注 (點滴) 方式給藥16。患者是否可以接受這種治療,視乎所患的癌症和以下因素而定:1) 癌症期數;2) 患者是否已接受某種治療16。患者應向醫生查詢這種治療是否適合他們。

PD-L1 測試

對於某些癌症和期數,進行 PD-L1 測試可以為醫生提供訊息,有助其更好地選擇治療方案12。當然,不是所有免疫檢查點抑制劑都需要進行PD-L1測試10。患者應向醫生查詢 PD-L1 測試是否適用於您。

單克隆抗體 (Monoclonal antibodies) 7

單克隆抗體也稱為治療性抗體,是實驗室製造的免疫系統蛋白。這些抗體能識別並附於癌細胞上的特定蛋白。單克隆抗體會標記癌細胞,令免疫系統更易識別和摧毀癌細胞、阻止癌細胞生長或促使細胞死亡。單克隆抗體可用以治療多種癌症。

細胞因子 (Cytokines) 12

細胞因子是體內的一種蛋白質,在增強免疫系統方面扮演重要角色。人造細胞因子 (例如干擾素和白介素) 已被用作癌症治療。干擾素和白介素會干擾癌細胞生長和繁殖方式、刺激免疫系統、幫助 T 細胞和其他細胞攻擊癌細胞,並促使癌細胞產生化學物質,吸引免疫系統細胞攻擊它們。細胞因子可被用於治療腎臟癌、黑色素瘤、多發性骨髓瘤及某些類型的白血病。

癌症疫苗5

癌症疫苗是用於增強人體天然防禦機制來對抗癌症,從而達至治療功效。這種疫苗有助延遲或阻止癌症繼續生長,預防癌症復發,或消滅其他癌症治療後仍然餘留的癌細胞。癌症疫苗的機理是將一種或多種癌症抗原引入人體,激發免疫反應,最終殺死癌細胞。癌症疫苗目前可用於治療前列腺癌。

過繼免疫療法

(Adoptive cell transfer,也稱為過繼細胞轉移、過繼T細胞療法或免疫細胞治療)

這類免疫治療仍然很新,科學家仍在對其進行研究,以了解其治療癌症的效果14。過繼免疫治療能增強患者 T 細胞的天然抗禦能力以對抗癌症。在這種治療中,會從患者身上抽出 T 細胞,然後在實驗室中進行繁殖和改造,然後輸回患者體內15。目前的過繼免疫治療有三種方式15

  • 對取得的 T 細胞進行繁殖;
  • 對 T 細胞進行基因改造以攻擊癌細胞上的抗原;或
  • 在 T 細胞中加入嵌合抗原受體,這種方法稱為 CAR-T 療法。

目前這種免疫治療被用於治療非何傑金氏淋巴瘤及部分急性淋巴性白血病15

訂閱