Immunotherapy For Lung Cancer
Immunotherapy
for lung cancer

Understanding lung cancer

There have been many exciting advances in the field of lung cancer treatment. Until the mid-2000’s, treatment options for lung cancer were mostly limited to surgery, chemotherapy and radiotherapy. Nowadays, patients with lung cancer often have newer treatment options. This section is to help you understand advances in the treatment of lung cancer using immunotherapies that boost your body’s immune system to fight cancer.

Lung cancer is the most common cancer and the leading cause of cancer death globally.18 In Hong Kong, lung cancer is the second common cancer and the most common cause of cancer-related deaths.19 In 2016, there were 4,936 new cases of lung cancer in Hong Kong, and a total of 3,780 people died from this cancer, accounting for 26.6% of all cancer deaths.19

Lung cancer is caused by lung cells growing out of control, and as the number of cells grow, they form into a tumor.20 The lungs are a pair of organs in the chest that supplies the body with oxygen and removes carbon dioxide from the body.


Symptoms of Lung Cancer

It is important to report any unusual physical feelings to a doctor. These unusual feelings can happen in conditions other than cancer too. The signs and symptoms of lung cancer can take years to develop and they may not appear until the disease is advanced.21The symptoms of lung cancer may include any of the following:23

A cough that
does not go away
A change in colour
or volume of sputum
A chest infection
slow to clear up,
even after antibiotics
Repeated bouts of
pneumonia or
bronchitis
Shortness of
breath or wheezing
Hoarseness or
a changing voice
Coughing up blood
Pain in the chest, shoulder,
or back unrelated to pain
from coughing
Difficulty swallowing
Poor appetite and
unexplained weight loss
Feeling tired all the time
Neck or facial swelling

If the original lung cancer has spread, a person may feel symptoms in other places in the body. Common places for lung cancer to spread include other parts of the lungs, lymph nodes, bones, brain, liver, and adrenal glands.21

Types of Lung Cancer

Lung cancers can be either primary or secondary. Primary is when the tumor starts to grow in the lungs first. Secondary is when it has spread from somewhere else to the lungs.24Only primary lung cancer is discussed here.

Most lung cancers are divided into two main types: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) and Small Cell Lung Cancer (SCLC).21NSCLC is the most common type of lung cancer and accounts for about 85% of lung cancers.24On this section we focus on NSCLC. NSCLC includes three main subtypes based on histology:

Adenocarcinoma

This type begins near the outside surface of the lung and grows slowly. It accounts for about 40% of lung cancers and occurs mainly in current or former smokers, but it is also the most common type of lung cancer seen in non-smokers, and more frequently seen in women and the young.24,25

Squamous cell carcinoma

This type generally begins in the lining of the airway in the larger breathing tubes, and often linked to a history of smoking. It accounts for about 25-30% of lung cancers and does not spread quickly.23,25

Large cell carcinoma

This type may occur in any part of the lung. It accounts for about 10-15% of lung cancers and tends to spread quickly.23,25

NSCLC Lung Cancer Staging

Staging lung cancer is based on whether the cancer is local or has spread from the lungs to the lymph nodes or other organs.21 Because the lungs are large, tumors can grow in them for a long time before they are found.43 Even when symptoms occur, such as coughing and fatigue, people think they are due to other causes.23For this reason, early-stage lung cancer (stages I and II) is difficult to detect.

Stage 0 Cancer cells are still within the lining of the lung or bronchus, but the cells have not formed an actual tumor. This is also called carcinoma in situ.21
 
Stage I The cancer is located only in the lung and has not spread to any lymph nodes. It is less than 5cm wide and can be surgically removed.27
 
Stage II The cancer is slightly larger than stage I, between 5cm and 7cm wide, and may have spread to nearby lymph nodes or other parts of the lung. Surgery may help. Other treatments may be necessary.27
 
Stage III Cancer cells have spread to the center of the chest (mediastinum) and/or to lymph nodes beyond the same side of the chest but does not appear to have spread to other organs outside the chest. Surgery may not be possible to remove the cancer.27 Other treatments will likely be needed.
 
Stage IV This is the most advanced stage of lung cancer in which the cancer has spread to both lungs, to fluid in the area around the lungs, or to another part of the body, such as the liver or other organs. Surgery may not be an option. Although stage IV cancers are generally not curable, there are treatments available that may help patients live longer and with an improved quality of life.27
 

Lung cancer treatment
Treatment options are based on a patient’s cancer type and stage, location, molecular characteristics, and his/her overall health. The most common treatments for lung cancer are surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, targeted therapy, and immunotherapy.
Radiotherapy can be combined with immunotherapy and other cancer therapies to achieve the best treatment results.

Surgery45

The cancer is removed along with some of the healthy tissue surrounding it. There are different procedure options depending on the size, stage, and spread of the cancer. The surgeon could remove as little as a small section of the lung to removing an entire lung.

Chemotherapy45

This treatment uses one or more of over 100 drugs to kill cancer cells to keep them from growing. Sometimes it is given before surgery to possibly help shrink the tumor, or to lessen any pain a patient may have. It can also be used after surgery to possibly kill any remaining cancer cells. Chemotherapy may be given by mouth or injected into bloodstream through a vein. It is usually given in regular treatments in a hospital, clinic or in the doctor's office over a specific duration of time.

Radiation therapy45

This treatment uses energy beams similar to X-rays, but in a strong, concentrated form. Radiation therapy may target the cancer from outside of the body or can be placed inside a needle, or catheter, and placed inside of the body to help attack the cancer.

Targeted therapy45

These treatments are determined by the results of a biopsy of the cancer cells. This test is called molecular profiling or mutation testing. Details of the tumor biopsy give the doctor information on how to possibly target specific mutations, or abnormal cells. There are many types of targeted therapies that may be used. Some block growth signals in the cells so they stop getting bigger. Others block new blood supplies that may nourish and grow cancerous cells.

Immunotherapy28

Immunotherapy treatment stimulates the immune system to recognize and destroy cancer cells. Immunotherapy can be used to treat some forms of non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).

We focus on immunotherapy treatment for lung cancer in this webpage.

Subscribe

肺癌免疫療法
肺癌
免疫治療

肺癌免疫治療

肺癌是全球最常見的癌症,也是頭號致命癌症殺手18。在香港,肺癌是第二最常見癌症,死亡則高居癌症死亡第一位19;2016 年全港有 4,936 宗肺癌新症,同期則有 3,780 名肺癌患者死亡,佔所有癌症死亡數字的 26.6% 19

肺癌是因肺部細胞不受控制地生長所引起。隨著細胞數量增多,便逐漸形成腫瘤20。肺是位於胸腔的器官,負責為身體供應氧氣,同時將二氧化碳排出體外。


肺癌徵狀

如果您身體出現任何異常情況,應及時咨詢醫生,這非常重要。當然,這些異常情況也可在其他疾病中出現,不一定只是肺癌。肺癌的徵兆和症狀可能會潛伏數年,有時直至疾病進展至晚期才會出現21。肺癌徵狀可能包括以下任何一項23

持久不癒的
咳嗽
痰液變色或
痰量改變
難以康復的肺部
感染,即使在使用
抗生素後仍未有好轉
反復出現肺炎
或支氣管炎
氣促或喘鳴
聲音沙啞或
聲音改變
咳血
胸口、肩膀或背部
疼痛,但疼痛與
咳嗽無關
吞嚥困難
食慾不振及
不明原因的
體重下降
整天感到疲累
頸部或臉部腫脹

如果原發的肺癌已經擴散,患者身體其他部位也可出現徵狀。肺癌常見的擴散部位包括:肺的其他部位、淋巴結、骨骼、腦部、肝臟和腎上腺21

肺癌種類

肺癌可分為原發性或繼發性。原發性是指腫瘤最先在肺部內開始生長,繼發性是指癌症由其他地方擴散至肺部24。在這裡,我們只討論原發性肺癌。

大部分肺癌可以分為兩大類:非小細胞肺癌 (NSCLC) 小細胞肺癌 (SCLC).21。非小細胞肺癌是最常見的肺癌種類,約佔肺癌的 85% 25。非小細胞肺癌可根據組織結構的不同分為三種主要亞型:

腺癌

這種癌症通常在肺的外層部分形成,並且生長緩慢。約有 40% 的肺癌屬於腺癌,常見於現時或以往有吸煙的人士,但也是非吸煙者中最常見的肺癌類型,並且較常見於女性和年輕人24,25

鱗狀細胞癌

這種癌症通常發生在較大氣管的内膜,一般與吸煙有關。約有 25-30% 的肺癌屬於鱗狀細胞癌,這種癌一般不會很快擴散23,25

大細胞癌

這種癌症可以在肺部任何部分出現。約有 10-15% 的肺癌屬於大細胞癌,這種癌通常會快速擴散23,25

非小細胞肺癌的期數

肺癌的期數乃根據肺癌屬局部性還是已由肺部擴散至淋巴結或其他器官而定21。由於肺部體積很大,腫瘤可以在肺部內生長一段長時間才被發現43。即使是出現如咳嗽和疲累等徵狀,很多時候患者也會誤以為是其他原因23。因此早期肺癌 (第 I 和第 II 期) 很難被偵測。

第 0 期 癌細胞仍然在肺或支氣管內膜中,但這些細胞尚未發展成真正的腫瘤。這也稱為原位癌21
 
第 I 期 癌症只在肺内,尚未擴散至任何淋巴結。腫瘤小於 5 厘米,此期可以採用手術切除27
 
第 II 期 癌腫比第 I 期略大,約為 5 至 7 厘米,並可能已擴散至附近的肺部淋巴結或肺内其他部位。手術可能對此期數的肺癌有幫助,也可能需要採用其他方法治療27
 
第 III 期 癌細胞已擴散至胸腔中央部分 (縱膈) 和/ 或對側淋巴結,但尚未擴散至胸腔以外的其他器官。此期手術可能無法切除癌腫27。很可能需要採用其他方法治療。
 
第 IV 期 這是肺癌的末期,癌症已擴散至兩側肺、肺部周圍的液體或身體其他部位,例如肝臟或其他器官。此期通常無法採用手術治療。雖然第 IV 期肺癌一般無法治癒,但現時仍然有治療方法可以幫助控制病情,並改善患者的生活質素27
 

肺癌治療選擇
治療選擇會根據患者的癌症種類和期數、癌腫位置、分子特徵和患者的整體健康而決定。最常見的肺癌治療方法包括手術、化療、電療、標靶治療和免疫治療。這裡我們重點討論免疫治療。
肺癌治療

手術45

手術可切除癌腫及其附近的一些健康組織。手術方式的選擇各有不同,這將視乎癌症的大小、分期和擴散狀況而定。有的可能只作部分肺切除,有的可能需進行全肺切除。

化療45

這種治療採用一種或超過 100 種藥物來殺死癌細胞,阻止它們繼續生長,現時有超過 100 種化療藥物。化療有時候可在手術前進行,以幫助縮小腫瘤或減輕患者的痛楚;有時候也可以在手術後進行,以殺死殘餘的癌細胞。化療可以口服或透過靜脈注射方式進行,通常在一段特定時間內,於醫院、門診或醫生診所進行定期治療。

放射治療45

這種方法採用與 X 光類似的放射線,但會以高能量的強度進行治療。放射治療可以從體外對準腫瘤進行治療,也可以置於細針或導管內,然後放入體內治療癌症。

標靶治療45

這種治療需根據癌細胞基因測試結果而定。這種檢查稱為基因突變測試或分子特徵分析。檢查結果的詳細資料可讓醫生決定如何針對特定的突變或異常細胞來進行標靶治療。現時可使用的標靶治療藥物有很多種,一些能阻斷細胞中的生長訊號,從而阻止細胞繼續變大。而另一些則能切斷養育癌細胞的新血液供應。

免疫28

這種療法是透過加強身體本身的自然防禦機制來對抗癌症,能夠用來治療數種非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)。

本網頁描述採用免疫治療治療肺癌。

訂閱